How to Check PNR Status

What is PNR Number ? How to Check PNR Status for Train

Indian Railways is counted among the largest railway network in the world and Indian Railways comes in number four in the largest railway network, in our country millions of people travel in trains every day. A separate budget for the railways was made in 1920-21 under the recommendations of the 10-member Ackworth Committee on Railways, headed by the British Railways economist William Ackworth.

What is the PNR number?

 PNR Number means Passenger Name Record This is a 10 digit number . This 10 digit number has complete information about the passenger. PNR Number is a unique 10 digit code, It is written in the top left corner of the ticket, through this number you can get information about your reservation seat, such as – seat number, waiting seat information, etc.

pnr number

How to Check PNR Status for Train?

Checking the number is very easy, you can check your PNR Status by visiting the IRCTC website.

Check PNR Status

How to get a Ticket form PNR Number?

  • First of all you need to login to the IRCTC (Indian Railways Catering and Tourism Corporation) website.
  • After logging in, you click on My Account.
  • After opening my account tab, click on my transaction.
  • After this, you have to click in Book Ticket History.
  • After this, you will get to see the entire book ticket, out of which you can print by clicking on the ticket you want.

What is PNR Number


There are types of ticket provided by the Indian Railway.

What is GNWL?

GNWL – Its full form is the General Waiting List. It is written in the ticket when the passenger starts the journey from the originating station of a route or from the nearby stations. This code is the most common in the waiting list and is most likely to be confirmed as such.

What is RLWL?

RLWL – or Remote Location Waiting List category tickets are issued for stations that fall somewhere between the train’s starting station and the last stoppage. These are called intermediate stations, the least likely to be confirmed in this category of waiting tickets.

What is PQWL?

PQWL – A Pooled Quota Waiting List is issued for a small number of small stations. Usually, it operates from the starting station of a route and during that journey there is only one pooled quota. In this, waiting tickets are given to those passengers who travel from the starting station of the train route to a nearest station, intermediate station or two intermediate stations.

What is RLGN?

RLGN – Remote Location General Waiting List is written when the passenger books the ticket and there is a waiting list quota, remote location waiting list. That is, after the ticket is booked, the name of the remote location waiting list is changed to the remote location general waiting list.

What is TQWL?

The TQWL instant quota waiting list was also formerly known as CKWL. It was renamed in 2016. Actually, TQWL is the waiting list for the immediate quota. If the confirmed ticket for the Tatkal quota is canceled before the chart is made, the TQWL ticket automatically comes up on the list. 

What is RAC Ticket?

RAC – Reservation Against Cancellation (RAC) tickets are not available in this category. 

Benefits of RAC Ticket:

  • If a confirmed ticket passenger does not board the train or cancels his ticket before running the train, then that seat is given to the passenger with an RAC ticket.
  • RAC means Reservation Angst Cancellation in which a passenger is given a seat to sit.


Read Also: